One of the vital reasons for choosing this course was because of the trip to Salem, a chance for me to go back to the State I belong to, and listen to people talk in Tamil once more, at least for a little while. And although the trip was a most insightful, almost a life changing experience, by the end of the course, my introspection was not limited to only that.

I realized that I had been living in a shell, thinking up my own utopian methods of resolving all the problems in society, and although I found out, (after long moments of thought, mostly instigated by the Airtravel exercise we had) that simpler systems like that of tribals and nomads, with local clusters of communities and minimal living, could lead to the end of a myriad troubles that humans have brought on themselves, it wasn’t a practical solution. Yes, I wish we could all go back to the old methods of living. But no, that is just not going to happen.

It’s hard to put into words the endless debates and questioning and confusion that’s been happening in my mind during the course, inside and outside class, but I think it was a necessity, even though it left me sleepless all night sometimes. It was a necessary evil. And maybe our society really does need necessary evils. Maybe to curb it and balance it is all we need. And I aim to do it. In my own small way if need be, and maybe on a larger scale.

The post structuralism in the methods of teaching made it so much more exciting and coherent by the end of it, that I’m hoping to research more on the method and follow it up in future courses. 

Last of all, it was the entire class including the facilitators that provided for interesting conversations on the matter. Society is indeed a necessity!



Leave a Reply.